Challenging times

For a while now I haven’t felt very well. October 2019 I went for a scan where they found a cyst on my ovaries, I have been in pain each month, with the virus lurking I wasn’t about to go to hospital for more tests and scans so I left it.

A fortnight enough was enough I was in pain so went for a scan, the good news was my cyst had gone and I have a rumberling apendict, with apendicts they have to leave it until it errupts. They said there was tissue there which was digging into me causing pain, the Dr would speak to me about it as they can’t diganoise, so I had the whole of half term hoiday worrying I had something sinister.

We exercise daily so went for our usual bike ride along the canals and ended up doing a 5 mile bike ride, this made me feel even worse and the next few days ended up not doing much at all, I sat crafting with the children but had a list of things I wanted to do, things I only have time to do when its a holiday.

Feeling sick and scared stiff with my Friday telephone appointment looming, convincing myself something wasn’t right, I had a call off the Dr. saying I needed to have my covid-19 jab, this took my mind off things so went to our local leisure centre. I was worried about this to as I have been avoiding getting the virus and managed up until this point, now they were going to give me a dose or a percentage of it scared me.

If you have the jab honestly you have nothing to worry about, I was worried as I walked up to the building, thinking am I going to be poorly after having this, anxiety plays on all our minds, the main thing was I didn’t want an asthma attack or shortness of breath and to struggle.

I had the jab and was asked to wait 15 minutes incase I had a reaction, I left just after 10 minutes as felt fine, other then a slight sore arm and I mean hardly anything, the next day my arm felt a bit heavy but again hardly anything, I have touch wood had no symptoms at all, infact I wondered if it was a placebo I literally felt nothing, I have felt poorly after having the flu jab, slight temperature and tiredness but this time nothing, May is when I have my second jab, I have heard they give you more of the virus in the second jab so we will see how that goes, but my opinion is its’s better to have it then not to.

Friday came around and feeling sick I called the Dr’s, I do worry myself silly sometimes, my cyst has gone I am healthy again touch wood, the only thing – I have is a fibroid which is down to age, I am 45 this year – it means when I have my monthly period I will suffer and know about it but its not big enough to operate on.

How did I take this news? Well we continue to exercise each day, we eat a lot of fish infact Rich is cooking a fish stir fry as I type, we have salad for lunch with Quinoa and fish whether its Mackeral, Tuna, Salmon, tonight it’s white fish, I drink lots of water and cranberry juice. Alchol is only drank on a weekend we share one bottle of wine Friday, Saturday and Sunday lunch time, which means were only getting a few glasses just to relax and unwind to say it’s the weekend, I think if you drink sensibly and haven’t over done it you don’t have to totally cut it out, not drinking is when people struggle to have just 2 glasses and can’t drink at all.

So this week I had written off as a rubish week but now on refelction its actually been a really good week, challenging but having the jab for the virus Rich relaxed so much, I could just see him unconciously doing a massive sigh of relief, the kids were so different I felt really bad I hadn’t realised that everyone was that worried about me getting it.

Rich has had a generous pay rise which was casually said and it came no where compared to that vaccination which goes to show money doesn’t make people happy its people, family and health that counts, I am so super proud of him though, he’s landed some big orders recently and again I can’t help it knock on wood as they say the company is overflowing with work, but as we all know the current situation that could change any minute now.

Previously to getting my results and the news of a rise Rich ordered a new settee from DFS to give me something else to think about, we have had it for 15 years now, Olivia’s seat has broke as the kids stood on the arm of the settee to close the curtains and fell on the chair breaking it, it was old and needed replacing anyway, it also has too manycushions that have to be plumped each day, so its hard work making it look new and tidy each day. So we have opted for a settee that just sits there and we can enjoy.

We’ve carried on decorating the whole house as we plan to do work on the garden next.

We went to my mums today she was having a good day so that pleased me and now My Aunty Irene, Brother and Sister-In-Law are all in a group chat re my mum so that has made me happy as now we are all working from the same hymn sheet and giving each other feed back, my Brother and Sister-in-law are now helping with mum, not just doing the shopping but cleaning as well, so we are all pulling together as “team mum” it’s how it should be so I am really happy about that, I feel so much better knowing Mum has everyone looking after her, I feel even better knowing that May I can hug my mum again and not distance from her, it’s hard telling a dementia family member you can’t come by me for yours and my safety and stay away.

So that’s our news from half term I hope your all well love Deb x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.